The Littleton Symphony Orchestra (LSO) began as a twelve-member string ensemble in the fall of 1984 under the direction of Glenn McCune. The next year, the group added wind, brass, and string players, performing as the Littleton Chamber Orchestra with William Skoog conducting. In 1990, the group grew to a full-size symphony under the direction of its present conductor, Jurgen de Lemos, and changed its name to the Littleton Symphony Orchestra. His expertise and leadership have been largely responsible for the LSO's reputation as one of Colorado's most respected and versatile community orchestras. The LSO is dedicated to the growth and quality of its musicians and to the cultural life of the south suburban area. It has participated in concerts during the Western Welcome Week, at the Riverfront Festival, Hudson Gardens, Elitch Gardens, Littleton Museum, Roxborough Park, Littleton Town Hall and at many community churches. 

Music Director and Conductor

Jurgen de Lemos, a native of Leipzig, Germany, has been a leader in the Denver music community since joining the Denver Symphony Orchestra in 1968 as Principal Cellist. He has been the Principal Cellist of the Colorado Symphony Orchestra since its inception. A summa cum laude graduate in cello and composition from Hochschule fur Musik in Munich, Germany, and Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris, France, he has studied with André Navarra, Pablo Casals, Leonard Rose, Gregor Piatigorsky and Maurice Eisenberg. He was the youngest member of the New York Philharmonic under Leonard Bernstein from 1964-68, and a winner of the Baglioni, Casals and Tchaikovsky international competitions. He also served as co-principal cellist under James Levine and Daniel Barenboim at the 1982 Wagner Festival in Bayreuth, and toured three continents with the Pablo Casals Trio. Mr. de Lemos was a Professor of cello and chamber music at the University of Colorado for 23 years. His conducting skills were refined under the tutelage of Adolph Mennerich in Munich, Jean Morel and Jorge Mester at Juilliard, and Walter Susskind (Aspen). He was founder and Music Director of the Arvada Center Orchestra from 1979-86, a past conductor of the Denver Young Artists Orchestra, and conductor of the Boulder Youth Symphony for eight years. He has also conducted at Aspen and the Siena, Italy Contemporary Music Festival. Mr. de Lemos has also guest conducted for the Fort Collins Symphony, The Boulder Philharmonic, The Topengo Symphony and the Grand Junction Symphony. Mr. de Lemos has conducted the Littleton Symphony Orchestra since the 1990 season.


Laura Anderson is a native of Colorado. She was born and raised in Longmont where she began studying violin at the age of three. While in Longmont, she performed with the Longmont Symphony Orchestra both as a soloist and a member. Laura received both her Bachelor's and Master's degrees from the University of Denver's Lamont School of Music. During her education at the University of Denver, Laura studied violin with James Maurer and Linda Wang as well as participating in master classes for Midori, Peter Oundjian, Alexander and Albert Markov and James Ehnes. While studying at DU, she earned many awards including placing in both the university's solo and chamber ensembles competitions on multiple occasions, as well as being honored with the best junior solo recital and being named the most outstanding undergraduate in performance. Her outstanding scholastic and musical achievement at DU was also recognized in her graduation with summa cum laude honors and induction into the Pi Kappa Lambda honor society. She was soloist with the Lamont Symphony in 2007 performing Saint-Saens' Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, which was reviewed in by Robin McNeil:

"The Saint-Saens was very well done. It was light and airy and very mellifluous. He was very sure of his violin soloist, Laura Anderson, who I might add, was superb. This young lady is truly extraordinary - she was always on pitch, and she had the kind of technique that made everything so easy...These two individuals, Ribeiro and Anderson, just made gorgeous music. "

In addition to playing with the Littleton Symphony, Laura also performs throughout the community as a soloist and with her string quartet, teaches Suzuki violin lessons, and also plays the harp.

Board of Directors and Volunteers

Board of Directors
Liz Ohsiek President
Cathleen Johnson Vice President
Kristal Suter Treasurer
Karen Nelson Secretary
Judy Campbell Board Member
Dawn Howard Board Member
Kim Millett Board Member
Christie Possehl Board Member
Jurgen de Lemos Ex-Officio
Staff & Volunteers
Jurgen de Lemos Music Director
Al MacDonald Executive Director
Bobbi Jones Personnel Manager
Kathy MacNary Librarian
Karen Smith Publicity
Neil Gillette Stage Manager
J.D. McCrumb Volunteer Coordinator and Board Development
Liz Ohsiek Web Developer

Our Vision

Performances that elevate the human spirit.

Core Values

  • Create exceptional performances that engage and educate audiences and musicians.
  • Inspire dedicated and talented musicians.
  • Build a tradition of excellence through love and commitment to orchestral music.
  • The Orchestra

    Violin 1
    Laura Anderson Concertmaster
    VACANT  Asst. Principal
    Cindy Wander Fixed 3rd Chair
    Julie Dexter
    Beth Greene
    Judy Grosswiler
    Thalia Karny
    Kristal Suter
    Kate Swanson
    Drew Thurston
    Diane Watkins

    Violin 2
    Kathie Snell Principal
    Janene Jensen Asst. Principal
    Cynthia Davis
    Jenny Dwiggins
    Judy Elgethun
    Bobbi Jones
    Liz Ohsiek
    Christie Possehl
    Kimberly Rieniets

    Loryn Gorsett Principal
    Karen Nelson Asst. Principal
    Neil Gillette
    Kristopher Harris
    Michael Holmes
    Sharon Inglis
    Kathy MacNary
    Carolyn Moershel
    Debra Molinaro
    Carin Ramirez

    Todd McCrory Principal
    Ethan Lazarus Asst. Principal
    Ruth Fulton
    Rebecca Jonas
    Carol Loadman-Copeland
    Kim Millett
    Judy Scherschligt
    Barbara Seaton
    Richard Spritz
    Marcella Wiebe

    VACANT  Principal
    Linda Tashma
    Suzanne Walters

    Rosanne Sterne Principal
    Kris Gensemer
    Abe Hutt

    Kris Gensemer

    Harry Grainger Principal
    Joel Lusby

    Dave Lichtenstein Principal
    Kathleen Botwinick English horn

    English Horn

    Dale H. Downing Principal
    Tim Hoyman

    French Horn
    Jennifer Cirrincione Principal
    VACANT 3rd Horn 
    VACANT 4th HORN 
    Sudy Opsahl

    Rick Pelletier Principal
    Leonard Fahrni
    Zak Ruffert

    Paul Altenhofen Principal
    Al MacDonald Bass Trombone
    Bill Skulley

    Tim Hanna

    Tony Estrada Principal

    Tony Estrada Principal
    Mary Kay Henderson
    Bill Mesa
    Eric Osborne
    Paul Schmidt
    Rebekah Woolverton